Thanks for checking out my best international album post. The international scene is massive as we all know, with quality releases coming on a near constant basis. With Burning Metal I generally feature the Irish scene almost exclusively. A big reason is time. There could be ten releases in any given week, so that’s enough generally speaking as I don’t have time to check out music as I once did. I’ll still dip my toe in though when something is getting rave reviews or highly recommended.

Urne are a bit different though. I discovered them at Bloodstock 2021, and they were one of the best bands that weekend in my opinion. I followed up on them after and discovered their album Serpent & Spirit, which absolutely blew me away and was my album of the year at that time. So damned good!

I heard they had a new album coming out and naturally I was hyped for it. I did not expect this though! What a step up from the lads! It’s mad to think a three piece can have this sound. It sounds huge! It has definitely got at least 30 listens over the course of time, and every time I return to it, I’m in from the start until the end.

Every now and then a truly band comes along, and Urne are that band! Joe and Angus have played in a few different bands together over the years (Hang The Bastard) and grew as a unit to the point they have a real chemistry and the obvious will to push themselves all the time. They ain’t settling for good. This has to be great!

The result is an absolute masterpiece in A Feast On Sorrow. An album I’ll still be returning to many years from now and will always enjoy it. I’ve heard other great international albums this year, but nothing tops this in my opinion. All hail Urne!!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/urneband